Publish a Post to Multiple Groups
Admin and Moderators can post content to multiple Groups, saving time from copying and pasting content, and giving readers the ability to view posts based on Groups they frequent. For example, a post can be shared in a general hiring Group and a location-specific hiring Group, or a post shared in a general company Group and an executive Group.
This article will show you how to post to multiple Groups.
🔹 This is available on all plans.
🔸 This is accessible to Admin and Group Moderators.
Publish a post to multiple Groups
Admins and Moderators can post content to more than one Group, but Moderators can only repost content to Groups they moderate. Here are the steps to publish a post to multiple Groups.
- Click Compose.
- Select Internal Post.
- Select a Group for the primary post.
🔸Moderators need to toggle on Post to Multiple Groups.
- Choose the "Groups to Repost" the post.
- Enter the post's content.
- Click Post.
Pinned posts for multiple Groups
Posts can be pinned to one or more Groups without being pinned to all Groups. Select the Groups to pin the post to the top of the timeline using the drop-down list.
Edit a published post’s Groups
Edit any post to change the primary Group or secondary Groups for the post’s location.
- Click the three dots menu.
- Select Edit Post.
- Reselect the post's Groups.
- Click Save.
🔹Note: Primary Groups are not able to be changed.
- Primary Post: Original post. This will be bolded on a published post’s list of Groups. Shares and engagements are allocated to this post only.
- Secondary Post: A duplication of the Primary Post, shared in other Groups. Any data for secondary posts is applied to the primary post.
If I share a post to multiple Groups, will readers see this on their Timeline for each Group a post is shared to?
Reposted content has a single Post ID, which allows it to be seen once on a user’s timeline to share and engage.
Does it matter what Group is used for the primary post and which is used for secondary posts?
It’s important to consider the Group for the primary post because any Moderator of the primary post's Group can edit the post, but Moderators of the secondary posts' Groups can not edit the post. However, Moderators of the secondary posts' Groups can remove the post from the Group they moderate. You should also consider which Group is most relevant for the primary posts since all data belongs to the primary post.
Why can’t I see Groups to post secondary posts?
You must be a member of the Groups you want the post to reside. Please reach out to your program Admin if you do not have access to the Groups you need.
What happens if I delete a post that was shared in multiple Groups?
If you delete the primary post, then the post is removed from every Group. If you delete a secondary post then the secondary post is the only one removed.
Can I get data for each individual Group and how a post performs in that Group?
Posts contain one post ID and data retrieved is for the primary post's Group. If you’d like to have data for each Group a post is shared, please tell us more within our Product Feedback Portal.
What happens to the data for a shared/engaged secondary post that’s deleted?
Your data remains with the primary post, even if a secondary post is deleted. Because we track point-in-time data, shares and engagements are still tracked as soon as they are received. This is true regardless of it a secondary post is deleted. The primary post hosts the data and will record activity as it happens.